Primary tabs

These frequently asked questions are intended to provide members with some general guidance on staffing processes and complaints, and are not exhaustive. While every effort has been made to ensure the information is accurate and updated regularly, please consult the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (Board) website to ensure your information on staffing complaints is current.

Why is an appointment process not advertised in my area?

The Public Service Commission (PSC) Appointment Policy and the Public Service Employment Act (PSEA) (s.29, 48 & 49) gives deputy heads broad discretion in determining appointment processes within their respective departments. Deputy heads must apply a national area of selection, with some exceptions. These exceptions include opportunities of six months or less, seasonal work, certain student appointments, and appointments where an exception is approved by the deputy head.

Are there requirements for an assessment board´s composition?

No. There are no provisions in the PSEA that require a deputy head to establish an assessment board, or that a board have a certain composition. However, if an assessment board is not properly constituted, and is unable to make a fair decision as a result, then you may be able to show that there has been an abuse of authority in the selection process. This a question of fact which depends on the specific complaint. You would need to provide evidence to show that the selection process was unfair because of the composition of the assessment board.

Can I grieve a staffing decision or process?

No. Staffing is not covered under the AJC collective agreement. It is governed by the PSEA and the Public Service Staffing Complaints Regulations. Unsuccessful candidates in an internal advertised appointment process can file a complaint with the Board within 15 calendar days following the date on which you received notice (including public notice) of the appointment, proposed appointment or revocation, as the case may be.  

What staffing complaints does the Board handle?

The Board handles complaints involving:
• abuse of authority in applying the merit criteria
• abuse of authority in choosing between an advertised and a non-advertised appointment process
• omission in assessing the candidate in the official language of his or her choice.

“Abuse of authority” can include bad faith and personal favouritism. The Board also has the authority to interpret and enforce the Canadian Human Rights Act in dealing with any discriminatory aspects of an appointment. The burden of proof generally rests with the complainant.

What is considered abuse of authority in conducting an appointment process?

The PSEA gives managers with staffing authority broad discretion to establish necessary qualifications for the position they want to staff, as well as to choose and use assessment methods that will enable them to determine whether a person meets the essential qualifications. The methods must be reasonable, and assess the essential qualifications fairly - a simple error or omission is not considered an abuse of authority.  The onus would be on you to provide evidence that there was an abuse of authority in the appointment process.

What types of staffing complaints can I file with the Board?

The PSEA provides the Board with the authority to consider, assist with resolving, hear and decide complaints involving:
• The deputy head´s decision to lay-off an employee.
The ground for complaint is that the manager abused his or her authority in selecting the complainant for lay-off. (s. 65 (1))
• The decision of a deputy head or the Public Service Commission to revoke an appointment.
The ground for complaint is that the revocation was unreasonable. (s. 74)
• Internal appointments.

How long do I have to file a complaint?

You must file a complaint within 15 calendar days following the date on which you received notice (including public notice) of the appointment, proposed appointment, or revocation. You can consult the Procedural Guide for Staffing Complaints for information on the Board´s hours of business for staffing complaints, and how to calculate time periods.

Ces questions fréquemment posées visent à fournir aux membres des conseils généraux sur les processus de dotation et les plaintes et ne sont pas exhaustives. Bien que tous les efforts aient été déployés pour garantir que les informations sont exactes et mises à jour régulièrement, veuillez consulter le site Web de la Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans le secteur public fédéral (Commission) pour vous assurer que vos informations sur les plaintes en matière de dotation sont à jour.

Existe-t-il des exigences relatives à la composition d´un comité d´évaluation?

Non. La LEFP ne renferme aucune disposition obligeant l´administrateur général à former un comité d´évaluation ou exigeant qu´un comité d´évaluation soit composé de telle ou telle façon. Toutefois, si un comité d´évaluation n´est pas constitué comme il se doit et, en conséquence, n´est pas à même de prendre une décision équitable, vous pourriez alors être en mesure de montrer qu´il y a eu abus de pouvoir dans le processus de sélection. C´est une question de fait qui dépend de la plainte formulée.

Puis-je présenter un grief relativement à un processus ou à une décision en matière de dotation?

Non. La dotation n´est pas couverte par la convention collective de l´AJJ. Elle relève de la LEFP et du Règlement concernant les plaintes relatives à la dotation dans la fonction publique. Les candidats non reçus dans le cadre d´un processus de nomination interne annoncé peuvent déposer une plainte auprès de la Commission au plus tard 15 jours civils après la date à laquelle ils ont reçu avis (y compris l´avis public) de la nomination, de la proposition de nomination ou de la révocation, le cas échéant.    

De quels types de plaintes la Commission peut-elle être saisie?

La Commission s'occupe des plaintes déposées pour les raisons suivantes :
• abus de pouvoir dans l'application du critère du mérite;
• abus de pouvoir en ce qui concerne le choix du processus de nomination (annoncé ou non annoncé);
• omission d´évaluer le candidat dans la langue officielle de son choix.

Que considère-t-on comme un abus de pouvoir dans la conduite d´un processus de nomination?

La LEFP donne aux gestionnaires investis du pouvoir de dotation une grande latitude dans l´établissement des qualifications exigées pour le poste à combler, ainsi que dans le choix et l´utilisation des méthodes d´évaluation qui leur permettront de décider si une personne possède ou non les qualifications essentielles. Ces méthodes doivent être raisonnables et évaluer les qualifications essentielles de manière équitable - une simple erreur ou omission n´est pas considérée comme un abus de pouvoir .

Quels types de plaintes relatives à la dotation puis-je présenter à la Commission?

La LEFP autorise la Commission à considérer les plaintes qui visent ce qui suit, à assister dans leur résolution, à les instruire et à statuer sur elles :
• La décision de l´administrateur général de mettre en disponibilité un fonctionnaire - Le motif de la plainte est que le gestionnaire a abusé de son pouvoir en décidant que le plaignant serait mis en disponibilité. (paragr.65(1))

Comment présente-t-on une plainte relative à la dotation?

Nous vous invitons à consulter le Guide de procédures pour les plaintes relatives à la dotation (le « Guide ») pour obtenir des renseignements sur la manière de présenter une plainte à la Commission. Une plainte peut être déposée par un particulier.

À l'intérieur de quel délai dois-je déposer ma plainte?

Votre plainte doit être déposée au plus tard 15 jours civils après la date à laquelle vous avez reçu avis (y compris l'avis public) de la nomination, de la proposition de nomination ou de la révocation, le cas échéant. Nous vous invitons à consulter le Guide de procédures pour les plaintes relatives à la dotation pour obtenir des renseignements sur les heures d'ouverture de la Commission concernant les plaintes relatives à la dotation et sur la manière de calculer les délais.