What changes have been made to parental leave?

Under the previous Collective Agreement, lawyers are entitled to a single period of parental leave of up to 37 consecutive weeks during the 52-week period beginning on the date of birth or the date on which a child comes into a lawyer's care. There is no automatic right to extended parental leave under the previous Collective Agreement.

What changes have been made to the parental allowance?

Several changes have been made to the parental allowance provisions in the new Collective Agreement following amendments to the Employment Insurance Act which allow for extended EI parental benefits. These changes were intended to provide greater flexibility and certainty to lawyers without significantly increasing the overall cost of parental allowance top-ups for the employer.

How will these changes apply to Québec residents?

Québec residents will be eligible for the non-discretionary extended parental leave.   Under the Québec Parental Insurance Program (QPIP) and the new Collective Agreement however, parental allowance would only be payable under the standard parental benefits option. The reason for this is that to be eligible for a parental allowance, lawyers must provide proof that they have applied for and are in receipt of QPIP parental, paternity or adoption benefits. Parental benefits are only available for 32 weeks with the QPIP Basic Plan, and 25 weeks with the QPIP Special plan.

How will these changes apply to lawyers who are currently on maternity or parental leave or who will be on leave when the tentative Collective Agreement comes into force?

Changes to parental leave will come into effect on the date the Collective Agreement is signed  (September 5th, 2019). Changes to existing and new compensation elements, including allowances, will come into effect within 180 days following the signature of the new Collective Agreement. This date has been set as November 18th, 2019.

Quels changements ont été apportés au congé parental ?

Aux termes de l'actuelle convention collective, le juriste a droit à un congé parental pour une seule période ne dépassant pas 37 semaines consécutives au cours des 52 semaines qui commencent le jour de la naissance de l'enfant ou le jour où l'enfant lui est confié.  Le juriste n'a pas automatiquement droit à un congé parental prolongé en vertu de l'actuelle convention collective.

Quels changements ont été apportés à l'indemnité parentale ?

Plusieurs changements ont été apportés aux dispositions sur l'indemnité parentale faisant l'objet du projet de convention collective à la suite des modifications faites à la Loi sur l'assurance-emploi portant sur les prestations parentales de l'assurance-emploi.  Ces changements visent à offrir une plus grande marge de manoeuvre et plus de certitude au juriste sans pour autant augmenter sensiblement le coût total du complément associé à l'indemnité parentale pour l'employeur.  Pour en savoir davantage sur les changements à la 

En quoi ces changements se répercutent-ils sur les résidents du Québec ?

Les résidents du Québec seront admissibles au congé parental prolongé non-discretionnaire.  En vertu du Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP) et du projet de convention collective par contre, l'indemnité parentale n'est payable qu'en vertu de l'option des prestations parentales standard.  La raison est fort simple : pour avoir droit à une indemnité parentale, le juriste doit fournir à l'employeur la preuve qu'il a demandé et qu'il reçoit des prestations parentales, de paternité ou d'adoption du RQAP.  Les prestations parentales sont seulement offertes pendant 32 semaines aux termes

Quelles sont les conséquences de ces changements pour la juriste qui est présentement, ou sera sous peu, en congé de maternité ou en congé parental, lorsque le projet de convention collective entrera en vigueur ?

Les changements au congé parental prendront effet à la date de signature de la convention collective   (5 septembre 2019).  Les changements à l'actuelle rémunération ou aux nouveaux facteurs de rémunération, y compris les indemnités, prendront effet dans les 180 jours qui suivront la date de signature de la nouvelle  convention collective.  Cette date a été fixée au 18 novembre 2019.