Primary tabs

What is a classification?

In the core public administration classification system, Treasury Board (“TB”) refers to the organization of work and employees as the occupational group structure.  The occupational group is a series of jobs or occupations related in broad terms by the nature of the functions performed.  

What is the Classification Standard?

According to the Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer, the “classification standard for the Law Practitioner group is a point-rating plan consisting of an introduction, the definition of the Law Practitioner group, the rating scale and level point boundaries.”

For a copy of the old LA standard, see 1987 LA Classification Standard.

What is point-rating?

According to the Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer, “point rating is an analytical, quantitative method of determining the relative values of jobs.  Point-rating plans define characteristics or elements common to the jobs being evaluated, define degrees of each element and allocate point values to each degree.  The total value determined for each job is the sum of the point values assigned by the evaluators."

What is the LP occupational group definition?

Generally, the Law Practitioner Group comprises positions that are primarily involved in the application of a comprehensive knowledge of the law and its practice in the performance of legal functions.  For a copy of the current LP Occupational Group Definition, click here.

Please note that LAs are now defined as LPs (Law Practioners).

What is Classification Reform?

The Financial Administration Act (“FAA”) outlines the responsibilities and powers of the TB. Amongst TB´s powers, is human resource management in the federal public administration, including the determination of the terms and conditions of employment of persons employed in it (section 7(1) (e)).

Pursuant to section 11.1(b) of the FAA, TB may provide for the classification of positions and persons employed in the public service.

Was the AJC consulted and what was the extent of these consultations?

Yes, the AJC was consulted. In April 2010, TB provided the AJC with early drafts of a new LP Classification Standard.  

On January 12, 2011, the AJC met with TB officials responsible for the LA Classification Reform Project.

In the Summer of 2011, AJC, with the assistance of a classification expert, provided comments and proposed some changes, some of which were retained.  

AJC also proposed input into the draft of the LP Group Definition which came into effect on December 9, 2010.

What changes, if any, have been implemented on the Classification Reform front?

On December 13, 2010, TB through the Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer, launched the creation of the new Law Cadre Occupational Group and Standard (“LC Standard”). Such group is excluded from the bargaining unit and comprises those previously excluded LAs who performed managerial work.

However, such group does not include all excluded LAs as they do not all perform managerial work withdelegated authority over human and financial resources. The LC reclassification exercise affected approximately 375 positions.

What is a generic job description?

Generic job descriptions list the core duties and responsibilities of a group of similar positions.  They are concise and contain only the information needed to apply the classification standard.  Job descriptions describe the work assigned to positions.
  
Approximately 65 generic job descriptions at DOJ applied to all LP positions. At PPSC, there were approximately 12.

What is the outcome of signing the job descriptions?

For managers, signing individual job descriptions based on generic job descriptions confirms that the selected description accurately describes the work assigned to and performed in the position.

For LPs, their signature confirms the employee has seen the job description and has been provided an opportunity to comment.

Signing any other form of acknowledgement is just that, an acknowledgement.  You are not waiving your right to grieve.

Qu'est-ce qu'une classification?

Dans le système de classification de l'administration publique centrale, le SCT désigne l'organisation du travail et des employés sous le nom de structure des groupes professionnels. Un groupe professionnel est un ensemble de professions ou d´emplois liés de façon générale par la nature des fonctions accomplies.  

Qu´est-ce que la norme de classification?

Selon le Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines, la « norme de classification du groupe professionnel du droit est un plan de cotation numérique qui inclut une introduction, une définition du groupe professionnel du droit, une échelle de cotation et les limites de cotation numérique. »

Pour obtenir un exemplaire de l'ancienne norme, voir la Norme de classification « Droit (LA) » de 1987.

Qu´est-ce que la cotation numérique?

Selon le Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines, « la cotation numérique est une méthode analytique et quantitative servant à déterminer la valeur relative des postes. Les plans de cotation numérique définissent des caractéristiques ou des éléments communs aux postes sous évaluation, déterminent différents degrés pour chaque élément et attribuent une valeur numérique à chaque niveau. La valeur totale déterminée pour chaque poste représente la somme des valeurs numériques attribuées par les évaluateurs».

Quelle est la définition du groupe LP?

En général, le groupe praticien du droit comprend des postes qui mettent principalement en application une connaissance approfondie du droit et sa pratique dans l´exécution de fonctions juridiques. Pour obtenir la norme d'évaluation des emplois  - Groupe praticien du droit (LP) cliquez ici.

Veuillez noter que depuis décembre 2013, les LA sont connus sous l'appellation LP.

Qu'est-ce que la réforme de la classification?

La Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques explique dans les grandes lignes les responsabilités et pouvoirs du Conseil du Trésor (le « CT »). Parmi ces pouvoirs figure la gestion des ressources humaines de l'administration publique fédérale, notamment la détermination des modalités d'emploi des personnes qui y sont employées (alinéa 7(1)e)).

En vertu de l´alinéa 11.1b), le CT peut procéder à la classification des postes et personnes employées dans la fonction publique.

L´AJJ a-t-elle été consultée et quelle a été la portée de ces consultations?

Oui, l´AJJ a été consultée. En avril 2010, le CT a fourni à l´AJJ les ébauches de la nouvelle norme de classification des praticiens LP.

Le 12 janvier 2011, l´AJJ a rencontré les fonctionnaires du CT responsables du Projet de réforme de classification des LA.

À l´été 2011, l´AJJ, avec l´aide d´un expert en classification, a fourni des commentaires et proposé des changements, dont certains ont été retenus.

Qu´entend-t-on par description de travail générique?

Les descriptions de travail génériques décrivent les fonctions et responsabilités principales attribuées à un groupe de postes semblables. Elles sont concises et ne contiennent que les renseignements nécessaires pour appliquer adéquatement la norme de classification. Les descriptions de travail décrivent les fonctions attribuées aux postes.

Environ 65 descriptions de travail génériques au ministère de la Justice s´appliqueront à tous les postes de LP. Au SPPC, il avait environ 12.

Quels sont les effets de la signature des descriptions de travail?

- Pour les gestionnaires, la signature des descriptions de travail individuelles fondées sur des descriptions de travail génériques confirme que la description choisie décrit exactement les fonctions attribuées au poste en question et exécutées par le titulaire de celui-ci.

- Pour les LPs, leur signature confirme que l´employé a vu sa description de travail et a eu la chance de fournir ses commentaires.

- La signature de tout autre type d´accusé de réception n´est qu´un accusé de réception. Vous ne renoncez pas à votre droit de déposer un grief.